My addiction

Today my blog is about what of my favourite things ever. Pokémon. I still remember my sixth Christmas and unwrapping a green nintendo colour and a small box containing Pokémon Blue. This was the start of my decline from reality.

At five years old I was hooked. Like some sort of electronic drug for children that had taken over the globe. I was introduced to the world of Pokémon by Professor Oak. I remember I choose Squirtle as my first Pokémon. He was my best friend in the Pokémon world, a small blue pixelated water turtle. I will add that throughout childhood I did venture outside with the friends I had managed to convince I was normal.

Since then my Pokémon addiction began. Pokémon Blue was just the start. When Gameboy advanced was released it was a whole new experience, better images, more Pokémon games, everything that would give me the potential to take me to the brink of becoming a social  outcast. Thankfully, I met others like me that was far down the route of gaming heroin.

More Pokémon were being introduced, the games were becoming more advanced, you could choose your own gender! Life was grand.

However, when I turned 12 and took the big yet unavoidable adventure to highschool me and Pokémon separated ways. Trivial stuff like life got in the way. I always missed Pokémon but I was now a teenager and too old for Pokémon. I had to become interested in new things.

However, an epiphany happened in college. I was talking to my class mates as I usually on dreary Monday mornings. We were being nostalgic at the age of 18. Then I brought up that I used to love Pokémon and then he turned around and said the sentence that changed my life, ‘I still play it.’ Many other people agreed. I was awestruck and also immensely happy.

A few of my other friends had stated that they stilled played Pokémon as well. I rushed out bought a Nintendo 3DS and bought Pokémon Heartgold and my affair began all over again.

Now I am trying to catch all the Pokémon in the latest game X, which is by far the most advanced Pokémon has been. The characters are in 3D you can buy different outfits change their hairstyles, eyecolour. Also, there is roughly over 700 different types of Pokémon including the new type, fairy. Which most Pokémon are pre-exsisiting from the original game such as Marril and Jigglypuff.

The starter Pokémon are the original grass, fire and water which makes up Chespin, Fennekin and Froakie

One fact that had everybody buzzing out their pikachu was mega evolution. When Pokémon can evolve one stage further in battle if the player has the mage evolution stone. This also included the three starter Pokémon from the original game and the player can recieve one throughout the game.

Pokémon X and Y is amazing and I suggest everybody plays at least once to feel like a kid on crack again

Leave a Reply

